Artwork and Writings of Irene Tobias Rodriguez

Fuji

"Fuji" acrylic

Fuji, I saw you
          finally for real
In my memory
          you are sealed.
Pictures weren’t enough
          your greatness to see.

I’ve waited for years
          this place to be.
Seen from far and wide
          unless in fog you hide.
From the ground you lie
          a tower to the sky.
 
Fuji, I stood
          on your shoulder
If trail weren’t closed
          I’d have been bolder.

 Chrysanthemums aplenty,
          Beautiful group.
Who’d have thought
          Even in my soup.

Comments on: "Fuji" (6)

  1. Another great post. I enjoyed reading your blog today.

    We love meeting new excited writers.

    Join Us Today – Writing Jobs Available

  2. To have experienced Mt. Fuji. Wow! I know that was exciting. Nice poetry as well.

    • I had the opportunity to visit Japan a few years ago and see the things I had heard about all my life. (My grandfather was a missionary there – see http://home.roadrunner.com/~itobias/notime.htm) The day we visited Fuji was cloudy and rainy and we could not see the mountain. We drove as high as the road allowed. The hiking trail was closed because it was October, winter and unsafe travel was approaching. The next morining we looked out the window of our host’s house and there it was, just as in the pictures I had seen for years!

  3. Great poem! I’d love to visit Mt. Fuji some day.

  4. What a great post! Flowers in photo and soup!

Leave a Reply. Your comments are appreciated.

Tag Cloud

