Artwork and Writings of Irene Tobias Rodriguez

Habitat 2011

“Habitat” acrylic

Here I sit in my garden
Looking out…pardon
I can’t.

Blocked
By gourd vine hedge mess
Out of control, humongous
By tomato record high
Reaching for the sky

Surrounded
By low growing flower
Filled with color power
Spilling over the walk
More than a single stalk

Silence
Broken by bird sings
Broken by hummingbird wings

Next year
I will plant different
Every year I vow
Mistakes will be new
Time will tell how

This year
I’ll enjoy
My habitat

(This was my garden last year. It is much less out of control this year.)

Although you can’t see then in the small image, hidden in the picture are creatures: squirrel, cardinal, butterfly, ladybug, ants, hummingbird, hawk, dragonfly, bumblebee.

Comments on: "Habitat 2011" (3)

  1. Stunning artwork and charming poem!

  2. Very nice – love the idea that you’ve hidden little creatures for those who take time to look – just like real life

Leave a Reply. Your comments are appreciated.

Tag Cloud

